My Guy

You had me down on my knees
begging for the strength to leave,
but praying that I would not go
and leave the only love I had ever really known.
You ripped my heart straight from my chest,
and yet I knew you were still the best.
You will always be the best.

You cast a spell that fixed the hell I’d once known,
sucked the poison from my bones.
How could I not forgive the pain?
As tears bled I knew they would dry again.
I always knew that you would try
and you would always be my guy.
You will always be my guy.

So as we walk forward hand in hand
my thoughts slip away, infinite grains of sand;
we’ll never talk of them again.
When it stabs me now and then,
my tears will fall as you hold me tall,
wipe away the memories I cry.
You will always be my guy.
You will always be my guy.

(January 2016)

Leave a Reply

